Got.

Posted: January 17, 2015 in poetry, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Note: I guess for my first post, I won’t waste time on something grand. This is just a little chicken-scratch I put down in a particularly bluesy mood.

I got a min wage job
And no desire to leave.
I got a hitch in my breath
And a heart on my sleeve,
But it don’t belong to me.
Or anyone.

And I drive the best car I could find
For the cash I had.
It ain’t much
But my mom and dad taught me one thing;
Not to live beyond my means.
I’m not sure if that means
Anything.

But the less I have, I know the more I give.
The fewer reasons, the harder I live.
Hand on the bottle or clothes on the floor.

Gotta tune out that misery,
Stop expecting more.
No more hoping for
A good heart and an easy life,
Someone right to call me a wife.
Cuz you can’t make a horse drink the water you lead it to
And can’t no one save me from being blue.

Anything you say to me
Will never save me
But it might save you.
Anything you say to me
Could not dissuade me
But it could be a grave for you.

Take your chances, I’ve got love to give
But not if you knock the way I live.
I got a heart-break sob
And a beer & wine heave.
I’m a bitch at my best
And my heart took its leave
Cuz it don’t belong to me.
Or anyone.

Not sure what killed that drive I had
It never did
Overcome the bad; never did define my dreams.
I’m not sure if that means
Anything.

Leave a Reply

