Lull-Uh-Bye

Posted: January 18, 2015 in poetry, writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

Keeping sight indifferent to the
Turntable trials and
Scorched flower gardens in my memories,
I hum the lullabies
Children dream of.

Now I lay me down to sleep, pray the Lord my soul to keep…

Waltzes through ashes, bare feet and lashes coated
In the residue of burnt up chances,
Smoke falling into lungs.
Coffee-chocolate mornings
Drowned in tears so bitter
They dried before they were cried.

If I die before I wake, I pray for God my soul to take…

Belief is the greatest lie, when hearts lie
Open to the elements as babes in baskets,
Newborn newspapers narrowed
To a paragraph about a life
Which ended

When she lit the match,
Laid down
And locked her self inside the casket.

Leave a Reply

