Baptised

Posted: July 5, 2015 in art, atheism, poetry, religion, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Before I could speak, the decision was made
That I would be trained to believe in god.
Their god.
A god whose bestseller book justified slavery, incest, male dominance and mutilation.
The god described as “love”, “savior”, “king”, “father”
“All-knowing”, “all-loving” while all are told he is to be feared.
I was raised to believe that a single lifetime of wrongdoing
Was righteously met with an eternity of torture.
But their god is “loving.”
I was recruited to a cause only days after my birth without my consent.
I was not given a choice.
It was washed away with holy water.

Comments
  1. Funny how we are told we should fear a being and love it at the same time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

