If someone shows you their true colors, don’t try to repaint them

Posted: March 26, 2017 in writing

Don’t undermine my feelings,

Don’t reword my thoughts or experiences,

Don’t explain back to me what I just said,

Don’t tell me I’m irrational or that I’m not reacting properly or that I’m “a buzzkill” or that I’m lying or that I couldn’t possibly know something,

Don’t tell me my feelings are wrong or that I shouldn’t/can’t feel that way,

Don’t interrupt me,

Don’t hold my past against me and use it to claim I can’t/haven’t change/d because “you know me”,

And don’t try to tell me who I am/was/should be/ will be.

I’m not a project, I do not belong to you, I’m not a thing. Respect autonomy.

Leave a Reply

